Commonwealth Government

Parliament of Australia - information about the House of Repesentatives, the Senate, Members of Parliament, Hansard

Australian Government Online Directory - a guide to the structure, organisations and key people in the Australian Government

Australian Government - information and services on around 800 Australian Government websites as well as selected state and territory resources

The Commonwealth Government, known also as the Australian Government or the Federal Government, was established by the Australian Constitution. It is divided into three arms:

  • legislature
  • executive
  • judiciary

The legislature, or the parliament, is made up of democratically-elected representatives from around Australia.

The executive, the administrative arm of government, is made up of government employees (the public service) working in departments and agencies.

The judiciary is the legal arm of the government. Its role is to enforce Australia's laws.

The SAcommunity website is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia Licence. © Copyright 2018